Cycling Ireland National Road Championships

Londonderry/Derry, 27 Jun 2019 - 30 Jun 2019

Contact Details

Foyle Cycling Club, Templemore Sports Complex, Buncrana Road, Derry-Londonderry, BT48 7QL

Foyle Cycling Club are gearing up for the arrival of the very best cyclists in Ireland to Derry/Londonderry for the Cycling Ireland National Road Championships in June.

The three-day festival of racing draws the very best Irish racers from at home and abroad for a series of solo time trials on Thursday June 27th followed by the road race action on Saturday and Sunday 29th and 30th.

International full time professionals will do battle with top locally-based amateurs for the title of national champion and the right to wear the coveted shamrocks on their jersey for the next 12 months.

Reigning elite road champions Eve McCrystal and Conor Dunne have signalled their intention to defend their respective road race titles in June and the promoting Foyle CC club are expecting that much of the foreign-based contingent of riders will return for the event.

The women’s and men’s elite road races will be filmed for a highlights TV programme to be broadcast in the week after the event.

The action gets under way on Thursday, 27th June with the time trial, a solo race against the clock. The riders in all categories will use the 36km course laid out on a traditional ‘out and back’ format starting and finishing near Speenoge, County Donegal.

The road race action begins on Saturday afternoon with the Women’s Elite race and the men’s junior events utilising the 29km circuit beginning and ending in heart of Derry/Londonderry.

It’s a challenging route for the riders with plenty of climbing in and out of the city in the multi-lap races. Subject to confirmation, the women’s elite race will be four laps of circuit with the men’s field set for a five-lap race on Sunday morning.

All the road races will culminate with a final race to finish line on Shipquay street in the heart of Derry/Londonderry where the champions of Ireland will be crowned.

Opening times



Free to spectate